

Constitution

	Permanent	Aldermen	Councillors					Total
	Chairman		St	Bryher	St	St	Tresco	
			Agnes		Martin's	Mary's		
1891 ¹	1	4	2	1	2	12	3	25
1947 ²	1	4	2	2	2	12	3	26
1955 ³	-	4	2	2	2	12	3	25
1979 ⁴	-	1	2	2	2	16	3	25
1985 ⁵	-	-	2	2	2	13	2	21
2017 ⁶	_	-	1	1	1	12	1	16

From 1955 to 1979 the Duchy of Cornwall had the right to appoint a councillor (in lieu of the permanent chairman) but this right was never exercised.

¹ Local Government Board's Provisional Order Confirmation (No. 6) Act 1890.

² Isles of Scilly Order 1947.

³ Isles of Scilly Order 1943. The abolition of the permanent chairman only came into effect upon the death of Arthur A Dorrien Smith in 1955.

⁴ Isles of Scilly Order 1978.

⁵ Isles of Scilly (Amendment) Order 1984.

 $^{^{\}rm 6}$ Isles of Scilly (Electoral Changes) Order 2017.