Draft Local Plan (2015-2030)

The Planning Department have been reviewing the Isles of Scilly Draft Local Plan 2015-2030 following public consultation earlier in 2018.  The next round of public consultation is due to take Place in November/December 2018.  This will be a consultation on the final draft before it is submitted to the Secretary of State.  This is called the Pre-Submission Draft Local Plan 2015-2030.  This webpage will be updated as soon as possible with details on how to get involved in this next stage.

If you are looking to read the documents or review the consultation responses on the Regulation 18 Public Consultation (March - May 218) of the Draft Local Plan 2015-2030 please navigate through the links on the left of this page or click here. This consultation is however now closed. 

The current Local Plan covering the Isles of Scilly was adopted in 2005.  You can view this together with its accompanying Supplementary Planning Documents on our Current Local Plan (2005) pages (link on the left). In June 2015 the Local Planning Authority started a review of the Isles of Scilly Local Plan. The new Local Plan is intended to plan strategically for the period 2015 - 2030.

You can find out about the planned progress of the Local Plan Review in the Key Stages Timetable link to the right of this page. This is also known as the Local Development Scheme (LDS). The latest revised timetable was approved at Full Council on the 7th August 2018 and is known as LDS6.  This superseded LDS5 which was adopted in May 2018 and will be updated as necessary to reflect any changes to this process.  If you would like to be kept informed about local plan and be consulted directly then you can be added to our Local Plan Consultation Database by completing the Registration Form (PDF or WORD) to the right of this page.

The Local Plan process will be carried out in accordance with our adopted Local Development Scheme and our Statement of Community Involvement (SCI) adopted in 2015, which sets out the methods by which we engage with the public and our statutory consultees.  

Second Stage (Regulation 18 Consultation) 2018

In March 2018 the Planning Department embarked upon on a second round of public consultation of the Draft Local Plan 2015-2030 and 5 consultation options.  The consultation took place between March and May 2018 for a period of 7 weeks.  This public consultation has now ended but you can view the documents we consulted on by clicking on the link on the left of this page or here

We had an excellent response to this public consultation with a total of 118 people coming to speak to us at our Drop-in sessions, held on each of the inhabited islands.  We had 42 written consultation responses. The Summary of Responses will be uploaded shortly, including Officers commentary to the responses recieved.

First Stage (Regulation 18 Consultation) 2015

Our first public consultation on the Local Plan Review took place in the summber of 2015.  We wrote to all residents about the public consultation and published the ‘Local Plan Review: Scoping Report’ setting out our intention to progress a new local plan and public consultation. The consultation on this took place from the 8th June to the 24th July 2015. 

We had an excellent response to the consultation. Around 117 people turned out to speak to us at our drop-in sessions and we received 80 written responses.  A summary of the consultation and what you told us can be found in the link to the right Summary Of Responses this also includes the Officer responses to these comments.

We’d like to thank the community for excellent engagement in the review process so far and we look forward to talking to you again during the next stage of the process.

The Evidence Base

Since 2015 we have been working hard to gather the necessary evidence base which has included the critically important Strategic Housing Market Assessment (SHMA) to understand the islands' housing needs.  As part of this process we appointed David Couttie Associates to undertake this work.  This included a Housing Survey and an assessment of National and Local demographic and migration statistics and trends.  The outcome of this work is critical to inform the Housing Figure for the new local plan and identify how many homes we have to plan for over the period.You can find out more on why this is required on the National Planning Practice Guidance Website.  The final full SHMA 2016 report can now be downloaded.  The Key Findings of the SHMA 2016 can also be downloaded.

Concurrently Officers have been working on the Strategic Housing Land Availability Assessment (SHLAA).  This has required us to work closely with our partner organisations to identify potential suitable housing sites.  This work will be critical to demonstrate that any identified need for housing could be delivered over the next 5 years.  You can find out more on why this is necessary on the National Planning Practice Guidance Website.  The 2016 SHLAA is published here. Any future updates will be published on this page.  If you have a site that you would like the Planning Department to consider for housing then please email the Council at planning@scilly.gov.uk

In order to understand housing viability issues the Council appointed Three Dragons to carry out independent housing viability assessment.  The results of this are due in February 2018 and the report will be published below shortly.  

Key Evidence Base Documents 

Local Strategies that have influenced the draft Local Plan (2015-2030) include:

Research and technical studies that have influenced the draft Local Plan (2015-2030) include:

Sustainability Appraisal and Habitat Regulations Assessment

Running in parallel to the local plan process is the required environmental impact assessment.  You can find out more on this process by following the links on the left of this page Sustainability Appraisal. The Local Planning Authority recently appointed Enfusion: Sustainability Environmental Planning Consultants to carry our the Sustainability Appraisal including the HRA of the Local Plan process. As each stage of the Local Plan progresses it will be subject to Sustainability Appraisal.

Want to be on our Consultation Database?

If you’d like to be included on the Local Planning Authority's consultation database, please complete and return the attached registration form on the left of this page. Once registered, you will be notified when a relevant document is open to public consultation and invited to engage in the process.